user Create your account

or

mail Sign in with email
×

News/Blog

Critical week in Mississippi

This week is critical for the success of the Convention of States Project in Mississippi.

Our application – HCR 78 – has been filed and assigned to the Rules committee. If passed by both the House and Senate, this application will add Mississippi to the list of states who are calling for a Convention of States to propose amendments to the U.S. Constitution that limit the runaway power of Washington, D.C.

The end of the 2015 legislative season is merely weeks away, and we still have much to do. To be successful, we must amp up the pressure on the Rules Committee.

So here’s what we need you to do: contact the members of the committee and nicely encourage them to place HCR 78 on the hearing agenda, and vote in favor of the Convention of States Resolution. If you only have time to contact one person, prioritize Rep. Formby. Then, ask 5 friends or family members to do the same! Spouses count!

We must take action NOW to ensure successful passage of our last best chance to reign in the runaway power of Washington, D.C.

Rules Committee Members:

Chairman, Mark Formby, mformby@house.ms.gov(601)359-3359

Charles Jim Beckett, jbeckett@house.ms.gov(601)359-3335

Edward Blackmon, Jr, eblackmon@house.ms.gov(601)359-3371

Gary Chism, gchism@house.ms.gov(601)359-3364

Andy Gipson, agipson@house.ms.gov(601)359-1541

Philip Gunn, n/a, (601)359-3300

Gregory Holloway, gholloway@house.ms.gov(601)359-2435

Mac Huddleston, mhuddleston@house.ms.gov(601)359-3340

John L. Moore , jmoore@house.ms.gov(601)359-3330

John Read, jread@house.ms.gov(601)359-3366

Greg Snowden, gsnowden@house.ms.gov(601)359-3304

Rufus Straughter, rstraughter@house.ms.gov(601)359-2421

Joseph L. Warren, jwarren@house.ms.gov(601)359-3014

Thanks for all your hard work. We’ll let you know as soon as the committee schedules a hearing.